201703.29
0

2017-2018 Quebec Budget

in Budget

NEW SPENDING FOR (ALMOST) ALL UNTIL… 2022!

BUDGET HIGHLIGHTS

A balanced budget and increased revenues for the government

In a budget which includes many measures to be deployed past the next elections, the government keeps targeting a balanced budget for the two coming fiscal years (2017-2018 and 2018-2019).

Quebec recorded a $250 million surplus in the fiscal year just ended.

The weight of the debt keeps dropping, and will reach 52.7% (gross debt) of Quebec GDP as of March 31, 2017, a decrease of .7 percentage point in one year.

Economic growth is accelerating, with a GDP increase of 1.7% in 2016 (1.2% in 2015). Quebec ends up having done better than Canada (1.4%) and the United States (1.6%). The government has set its economic growth projections at 1.7% for 2017 and 1.6% for 2018.

The projected growth of the government’s consolidated revenue should accelerate to 3.7%, compared with the increase recorded for the last fiscal year, of 2.3%. The target for consolidated expense growth is set at 3.6% for the coming year.

Among the most notable measures:

  • Education gets new investments totalling $3.438 billion between now and the 2021-2022 fiscal year, in particular for early childhood, the school network and higher education;
  • The infrastructures of the education network will also get fresh money, $1.13 billion, most of which will be invested by the end of the 2019-2020 fiscal year, on top of the amounts already projected for educational infrastructure in the Quebec Infrastructure Plan (PQI);
  • Excluding infrastructure spending, the health network will get more money than education over the next two fiscal years, with new investments totalling close to $1.2 billion between now and 2018-2019, including $772 million in 2017-2018, that, among others, will bring the spending of health establishments to a level that will allow improved care accessibility and quality;
  • Tax cuts will lighten the fiscal burden of taxpayers by $2.8 billion in total for the five coming years, through a continued elimination of the health tax, its refund for the year 2016, an increase in the basic personal amount starting in 2017 and the extension of the RénoVert program;
  • Close to 1 billion will be invested in research and innovation.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

New measures and a spirit of continuity

The government’s budget plan renews or extends some economic development measures announced in previous budgets, while adding new initiatives. Along with some tax measures, including a decrease in the general corporate tax level, Quebec will lighten the corporate tax burden by close to $3 billion between now and the end of fiscal 2021-2022 (including some measures announced last year).

Among others:

  • A gradual reduction in the general corporate income tax rate by .1 percentage point per year starting January 1st, 2017, to reach 11.5% by January 1st, 2020, putting Quebec’s corporate tax rate on a par with Ontario;
  • The implementation of an additional deduction of 35% for depreciation in order to encourage the digital transformation of companies, in addition to the existing depreciation deduction, on investments made prior to April 1st, 2019;
  • The reduction of the tax burden for SMBs by $1.7 billion between now and 2022, with a decrease in the premium rate to the Health Services Fund (FSS), the introduction of a premium holiday for the hiring of specialized workers (up to 2020), a tax rate reduction for SMBs (from 8% to 4%) in the primary and manufacturing sectors, and the introduction of an additional deduction for the transportation costs of manufacturing SMBs.

Among the new measures:

  • The addition of $830 million between now and 2021-2022 to stimulate research and innovation, with:
    • $180 million additional money to encourage research and innovation in higher education establishments;
    • $100 million for the creation of a new artificial intelligence supercluster;
    • $305 million to encourage scientific innovation and succession between now and 2022 to support research organizations or the implementation of new measures to encourage scientific innovation and succession, that will contribute to the new Quebec research and innovation strategy due to be unveiled by the Ministry of Economy, Science and Innovation;
    • $118 million for the implementation of the life sciences strategy;
    • $125 million to foster the development of the innovative manufacturing sector;
    • $46 million to stimulate innovation in the forestry sector, in particular with the enhancement of the Innovation Bois program;
    • $22 million to foster research in the maritime sector;
  • $179 million are planned to support the integration of immigrants to the labour market;
  • The creation of the Fonds d’appui au rayonnement des régions (Regional Outreach Support Fund) with a starting envelope of $310 million over five years, including $30 million in fiscal 2017-2018;
  • $159 million to stimulate investments in the agrifood sector, i.e. $95 million to support investments in the agricultural sector and $43 million for innovative agriculture and food processing;
  • $85 million to encourage sustainable mobility in the transport sector, among others with a new electric and intelligent vehicle industrial cluster, additional financing for the Roulez électrique (Drive Electric) program, and a pilot program to encourage the purchase of used electric vehicles;
  • $70 million over 5 years for a new entrepreneurship action plan which will be unveiled in the near future;
  • Creation of a pole of excellence in financial technologies;
  • The government reiterates its confidence in natural gas as a transitional form of energy, with the three network expansion projects.

Among the measures extended or maintained:

  • An extension of the tax holiday on large investment projects until December 31, 2020;
  • The rebate on electricity rates to foster corporate investment, applicable since last January 1st, will continue until December 31, 2024 (applicable to consumers paying the “L” rate);
  • The deduction for innovative businesses (DSI), which lowers to 4 % the tax rate on income linked to the marketing of a product incorporating a patent that protects an invention developed in Quebec.

Public transportation

Public transportation is the target of many measures, and Quebec confirms that the amounts required for three major projects have been reserved in the Quebec Investment Plan – 2017-2027, for the CDPQ Infra Metropolitan Electrical Network (REM), the extension of the Montreal Metro Blue Line and the Québec City-Lévis Rapid Bus Service.

With the support for the creation of the new Metropolitan Transportation Regional Authority (ARTM) and other measures, the sums allocated to public transportation reach close to $1.5 billion.

OTHER MEASURES

Reduction in the taxpayers’ tax burden

Quebec announces a general tax cut for all taxpayers with the enhancement of the basic personal amount starting in 2017. This measure gives every taxpayer a $55 tax break, with the basic amount increasing from $11,635 to $14,890, and the conversion rate for the basic tax credit lowered to 16%.

In addition, the abolition of the health tax, originally planned for 2017, is retroactively moved up to fiscal 2016 for close to 4.3 million taxpayers with incomes of $134,095 or less. The refunds will be between $50 and $200 depending on the amount paid.

Education and early childhood

The new amounts announced for the education sector include in particular the future implementation of an initial educational success policy.

The policy outlines an additional $1.8 billion to support preschoolers, primary and secondary students as well as their parents, and $130 million over six years for early childhood. This measure will translate in the addition of 1,500 people in direct student services as soon as next September.

201703.28
0

Budget du Québec 2017-2018

dans Budget

DE NOUVELLES DÉPENSES POUR (PRESQUE) TOUS JUSQU’EN… 2022 !

FAITS SAILLANTS DU BUDGET

Équilibre budgétaire et croissance des revenus pour le gouvernement

Dans un budget qui prévoit de nombreuses mesures devant être déployées au-delà des prochaines élections, le gouvernement garde le cap sur l’équilibre budgétaire pour les deux prochains exercices (2017-2018 et 2018-2019).

Québec a enregistré un surplus de 250 M$ lors de l’exercice qui vient d’être complété.

Le poids de la dette continue de diminuer, et se retrouvera à 52,7 % (dette brute) du PIB du Québec le 31 mars 2017, ce qui équivaut à une baisse de 0,7 point de pourcentage en un an.

La croissance économique s’accélère, avec une augmentation du PIB de 1,7 % en 2016 (1,2 % en 2015). Le Québec se retrouve ainsi à avoir fait mieux que le Canada (1,4 %) et les États-Unis (1,6 %). Le gouvernement fixe sa prévision de croissance économique à 1,7 % pour 2017 et 1,6 % en 2018.

La croissance prévue des revenus consolidés du gouvernement devrait s’accélérer, à 3,7 %, par rapport à la hausse enregistrée lors de l’exercice précédent (2,3 %). La cible de croissance des dépenses consolidées est fixée à 3,6 % pour l’an prochain.

Parmi les mesures marquantes :

  • L’éducation se voit attribuer des nouveaux investissements qui totaliseront 3,438 G$ d’ici à l’exercice 2021-2022, notamment pour la petite enfance, le réseau scolaire et pour les études supérieures;
  • Les infrastructures du réseau de l’éducation recevront aussi de l’argent neuf, soit 1,13 G$, dont la très grande majorité sera investie d’ici à la fin de l’exercice 2019-2020, ces sommes s’ajoutant aux montants déjà prévus pour les infrastructures en éducation au Plan québécois des infrastructures (PQI);
  • En excluant les dépenses en infrastructures, le réseau de la santé recevra plus que l’éducation pour les deux prochains exercices, avec des nouveaux investissements de près de 1,2 G$ d’ici à 2018-2019, dont 772 M$ dès l’exercice 2017-2018, qui serviront entre autres à porter la croissance des dépenses des établissements de santé à un niveau permettant d’améliorer l’accès aux soins et leur qualité;
  • Les baisses d’impôts allègeront le fardeau fiscal des contribuables de 2,8 G$ au total pour les cinq prochaines années, par la poursuite de l’élimination de la taxe santé, son remboursement pour l’année fiscale 2016, la bonification du montant personnel de base à compter de 2017 et la prolongation du programme RénoVert;
    Près d’un milliard d’investissements en recherche et innovation.

DÉVELOPPEMENT ÉCONOMIQUE

Nouvelles mesures et esprit de continuité

Le plan budgétaire du gouvernement renouvelle ou prolonge quelques mesures de développement économique annoncées lors des budgets précédents, tout en ajoutant de nouvelles initiatives. Avec diverses mesures fiscales, dont la réduction du taux général d’imposition des sociétés, Québec allègera le fardeau fiscal des entreprises de près de 3 G$ d’ici à la fin de l’exercice financier 2021-2022 (en incluant certaines mesures annoncées l’an dernier).

On retrouve par exemple :

  • Une réduction graduelle du taux général d’imposition sur le revenu des sociétés de 0,1 point de pourcentage par année à compter du 1er janvier 2017, pour atteindre 11,5 % le 1er janvier 2020, faisant en sorte qu’à terme le taux d’imposition des sociétés au Québec sera équivalent à celui de l’Ontario;
  • L’instauration d’une déduction additionnelle de 35 % pour amortissement afin d’encourager le virage numérique des entreprises, qui s’ajoute à la déduction actuelle pour amortissement, pour des investissements effectués avant le 1er avril 2019;
  • La réduction du fardeau fiscal des PME de 1,7 G$ d’ici à 2022 avec la réduction du taux de cotisation au Fonds des services de santé (FSS), l’introduction d’un congé de cotisation au FSS pour l’embauche de travailleurs spécialisés (jusqu’en 2020), une réduction du taux d’imposition pour les PME (8 % à 4 %) des secteurs primaire et manufacturier, et l’introduction d’une déduction additionnelle pour les coûts de transports des PME manufacturières.

On compte parmi les nouvelles mesures :

  • L’ajout de 830 M$ d’ici 2021-2022 pour stimuler la recherche et l’innovation avec :
    • 180 M$ additionnels pour encourager la recherche et l’innovation dans les établissements d’enseignement supérieurs;
    • 100 M$ pour la création d’une super-grappe en intelligence artificielle;
    • 305 M$ pour encourager l’innovation et la relève scientifique d’ici 2022 pour soutenir des organismes de recherche ou la mise en œuvre de nouvelles initiatives encourageant l’innovation et la relève scientifique, qui vont contribuer à la nouvelle stratégie québécoise de la recherche et de l’innovation devant être dévoilée par le ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation;
    • 118 M$ pour la mise en œuvre de la stratégie des sciences de la vie;
    • 125 M$ pour favoriser le développement du secteur manufacturier innovant;
    • 46 M$ pour stimuler l’innovation dans le secteur forestier, notamment avec la bonification du programme Innovation Bois;
    • 22 M$ pour favoriser la recherche dans le domaine maritime;
  • 179 M$ sont prévus pour soutenir l’intégration des personnes immigrantes sur le marché du travail;
  • La création du Fonds d’appui au rayonnement des régions avec une enveloppe initiale de 310 M$ sur cinq ans, dont 30 M$ dès l’exercice financier 2017-2018;
  • 159 M$ pour stimuler l’investissement dans le secteur agroalimentaire, soit 95 M$ pour appuyer l’investissement dans le secteur agricole et 43 M$ pour l’agriculture novatrice et la transformation alimentaire;
  • 85 M$ pour encourager la mobilité durable dans le secteur des transports, notamment avec une nouvelle grappe industrielle du véhicule électrique et intelligent, un financement additionnel pour le programme Roulez électrique et un programme pilote pour favoriser l’acquisition de véhicules électriques d’occasion;
  • 70 M$ sur cinq ans pour un nouveau plan d’action en entrepreneuriat qui sera dévoilé prochainement;
  • Création d’un pôle d’excellence dans le domaine des technologies financières;
  • Le gouvernement réitère sa confiance dans le gaz naturel comme énergie de transition avec trois projets de prolongement du réseau.

Parmi les mesures reconduites ou maintenues :

  • La prolongation du congé fiscal pour grands projets d’investissements jusqu’au 31 décembre 2020;
  • Le rabais d’électricité pour favoriser les investissements des entreprises, applicable depuis le 1er janvier dernier, se poursuivra jusqu’au 31 décembre 2024 (applicable aux consommateurs facturés au tarif « L »);
  • La déduction pour sociétés innovantes (DSI) qui abaisse à 4 % le taux d’imposition pour des revenus liés à la commercialisation d’un produit incorporant un brevet protégeant une invention développée au Québec.

Transport collectif

Le transport collectif fait l’objet de plusieurs mesures et Québec confirme que les sommes requises pour trois grands projets sont réservées au PQI 2017-2027, soit le Réseau électrique métropolitain (REM) de CDPQ Infra, le prolongement de la ligne bleue du métro de Montréal et le service rapide par bus (SRB) Québec-Lévis.

Avec le soutien pour la mise en place de la nouvelle Autorité régionale de transport métropolitain (ARTM) et d’autres mesures, les sommes allouées au transport collectif totalisent près de 1,5 G$.

AUTRES MESURES

Réduction du fardeau fiscal des contribuables

Québec annonce une baisse d’impôt générale pour l’ensemble des contribuables avec la bonification du montant personnel de base dès 2017. Cette mesure fait en sorte que chaque contribuable profitera d’une réduction d’impôt de 55 $, alors que le montant personnel de base sera majoré de 11 635 $ à 14 890 $, et que le taux de conversion pour le crédit d’impôt de base sera ramené à 16 %.
Aussi, l’abolition de la taxe santé, initialement pour 2017, est finalement devancée rétroactivement pour l’année fiscale 2016 pour près de 4,3 millions de contribuables qui ont un revenu de 134 095 $ et moins. Les remboursements varieront entre 50 $ et 200 $ selon les montants payés.

Éducation et petite enfance

Les nouvelles sommes annoncées pour le secteur de l’éducation comprennent notamment la future mise en place d’une première politique de la réussite éducative.

Les grandes orientations de cette politique prévoient 1,8 G$ additionnels pour accompagner et soutenir les élèves du préscolaire, primaire et secondaire, ainsi que leurs parents, et 130 M$ sur six ans pour la petite enfance. Cette mesure doit entraîner l’ajout de 1 500 personnes en services directs aux élèves dès septembre prochain.